Image 8

“The ruling body of the AfSC is the Council, consisting of the Titular and Affiliate Members, and the Executive Committee.

The administrative body of the AfSC is the Executive Committee, consisting of:

  1. Members elected by the Council at each General Assembly: the President, the first and second Vice-Presidents, the Secretary General, and one additional Executive Committee member.
  2. Members by right: the immediate Past-President, and a representative of the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI), delegated by IASPEI.

The administrative period is normally two years, and comprises the time interval between the Closing Plenary meetings of two consecutive General Assemblies.

A General Assembly is the time period from the Opening Plenary meeting through the Closing Plenary meeting. Scientific sessions and administrative meetings are scheduled during the General Assembly. Anyone interested is invited to take part in the General Assembly.”